The general court-martial of Jemadar Issuree Pandy took place between the 10th and 13th of April at Barrackpore, by order of Major-General J.B. Hearsey.

PRESIDENT:
Subadar-Major JOWAHIR LALL TEWARY, 43rd Regiment, Native Infantry

MEMBERS:
Subadar BHOLA OPADHIA, 17th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar HURRUCK SING, 40th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar RAM SING, 9th Battalion, Artillery.
Subadar AMANUT KHAN, 37th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar SEWUMBUR PANDY, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar DIRGA RAM 70th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar KOODA BUKSH, 2nd Regiment, Native (Grenadier) Infantry.
Subadar MEERWAN SING, 70th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar SOOKHLAL MISR, 43rd Regiment, Native Infantry.
Slibalar AJOODHIA TEWARY, 70th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Subadar JALIM SING, 43rd Regiment, Native Infantry.
Jemadar DEWAN ALLIE, 9th Battalion, Artillery.
Jcmadar MOHUN SING, 65th Regiment, Native Infantry.
Jemadar LALLA RAM BUKSH, 8th Regiment, Native Infantry.

JUDGE-ADVOCATE
Captain G.C. HATCH, Depy. Judge Advocate-Genl., Presidency Divn.

INTERPRETER
Lieutenant J. VALLINGS, 19th Regiment, Native Infantry

The Court re-assembled this day at ten o’clock in the forenoon, at the Mess House, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, the President, Members, Judge-Advocate, and Interpreter all being present, with the exception of J emadar Dewnn Alie, 9th Battalion, Artillery, reported sick. Jemadar Promode Sing. 43rd Regiment Native infantry, a member in waiting. takes his place in Court.
Jemadar Issuree Pundy, No.l Company, 34th Regiment, Na/we Infantry, is brought prisoner before the Court.
Lieutenant and Brevet-Colonel S.G. Whcler, Commanding the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, takes his place in Court as Prosecutor.
The names of the President and Members of the Court are read out in hearing of the prisoner.


BY THE JUDGE-ADVOCATE

Question – Jcmndar Issuree Pandy, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry.- do you object to being tried by the President or any of the Members of this Court-martial?
Answer – I object to none.
The Interpreter, President, Members, and Judge-Advocate make the prescribed solemn affirmation.
The following charge is read and entered.

CHARGES
Jemadar Issuree Pandy, No.1 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, placed in confinement by order of Major-General J.B. Hearsey, Commanding the Presidency Division, on the following
charges:
1st -For having; at Barrackpore, on the 29th March 1857, he being then in command of the quarter-guard of his regiment; not used his utmost or any endeavours to suppress a mutiny begun by Mungul Pandy, sepoy, No. 5 Company of the regiment, the said sepoy having on the afternoon of the day abovementioned, gone out into the parade ground in front of and near to the quarter-guard of the
regiment armed with a sword and musket, and then and there used words to excite the men of the regiment to come forth and join him in resistance to lawful authority; and having then and there, on the parade ground and near to the quarter-guard of the regiment, discharged his loaded musket at Sergeant-Major James Thornton Hewson and Lieutenant Bempde Henry Baugh, of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, and then and there, with a sword, struck and severely wounded the said Lieutenant B. H. Baugh and Sergeant-Major J. T. Hewson, and he the said jemadar not having taken any measures to arrest and confine the said sepoy throughout the aforesaid occurrences, nor to assist the said Lieutenant B. H. Baugh and Sergeant-Major J. T.Hewson; and he, the said jemadar, having moreover, then and there, discouraged and interfered to prevent any sepoys of his guard from going to their assistance.

2nd – For disobedience of the lawful command of his superior officers in not having advanced with his guard to rescue the sergeant and capture, the aforesaid sepoy, Mungul Pandy, when, shortly after the occurrences set forth in the first charge, he was ordered to do so, by Brevet-Colonel S. G. Wheler, Commanding the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry.

BY THE JUDGE-ADVOCATE
Question – Jemadar Issuree Pandy, No.1 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry,-How say you, are you guilty or not guilty of these charges?
Answer – I am not guilty.

PROSECUTION
Lieutenant-Colonel and Brevet-Colonel S.G. Wheler, the Prosecutor, is duly sworn.

BY THE JUDGE-ADVOCATE
Question – You are commanding, I believe, the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, and commanded it on the 29th of last month at this station?
Answer – Yes, I did.
Question – Did you go down to the parade ground of your regiment on the 29th of last month? If so, please state what occurred there.
Answer – I did. I received a report at my house that a man, a sepoy of the regiment, was walking up and down in front of the quarter-guard of the regiment, inciting the men to mutiny. On arriving at the lines of the quarter-guard, and observing Sepoy Mungul Pandy, of the regiment, with a musket and sword walking up and down about 100 yards from the quarter-guard, I ordered the quarter-guard to load and directed the prisoner, Jemadar Issuree Pandy, who was then in command of the quarter-guard, to advance and seize the prisoner with his guard. He murmured, and said, to the best of my recollection – “The guard will not touch the prisoner.” I repeated the order two or three times, when he ordered the guard to advance. They did so a few paces, when they halted, and he, the Jemadar, returned and said – “The guard will not advance any further, and refuse to touch the prisoner.” I then went to the Brigadier, who had arrived to the left of the lines, and reported the matter to him. The General, General Hearsey, commanding the Division came up soon after on horseback, and after speaking a few words with the Brigadier, he rode towards the quarter-guard of my regiment, accompanied by several officers, mounted and on foot. He directed the quarter-guard to advance. They did so a few paces, when the Sepoy Mungul Pandy sat down and shot himself. The wound was not mortal, but a slight flesh wound.
Question – You ordered the Jemadar Issuree Pandy to advance and seize the prisoner; whom do you mean by prisoner?
Answer – The sepoy in front of the quarter-guard, Mungul Pandy.
Question – Why did you repeat your order to the Jemadar to advance and seize the sepoy?
Answer – Because it was not obeyed in the first instance.
Question – Why did you order the guard to go out and seize the sepoy?
Answer – Because it had been reported to me that his musket was loaded and that he was ready to shoot any European who exposed himself in front of the bells-of-arms.
Question – When you first order the Jemadar to take his guard and advance did he say anything in reply?
Answer – Yes, he said the guard would not advance or touch the sepoy.
Question – Were you near when Major-General Hearsey ordered the Jemadar to advance?
Answer – Not within, I suppose, 50 yards.
Question – Did you hear what General Hearsey said to the Jemadar?
Answer – No.
Question – Who was with you when you gave your order to the Jemadar of the quarter-guard?
Answer – Captain Drury was present.
Question – Did you hear any of the guard say they would not advance when the Jemadar halted and returned to you and said they would not advance?
Answer – No.
Question – Did you perceive any reluctance in the manner of the sepoys of the guard to advance with the Jemadar?
Answer – Some hesitation apparently.
Question – When the Jemadar advanced a short way with his guard, where was he?
Answer – On the left flank of the front rank.
Question – In what part of the guard did you observe the hesitation you speak of?
Answer – In the rear rank chiefly; I was in the rear of the guard at the time.
Question – When, after you repeated your order to advance, and the Jemadar did a few paces, did he advance with alacrity and willingness, or otherwise?
Answer – Yes, I saw no hesitation in his advance.
Question – Did the Jemadar order the guard to halt or did the men of the guard halt themselves?
Answer – That I did not hear, nor have ever learnt.
Question – Did you hear the Jemadar say anything to encourage the men to advance?
Answer – Nothing.
Question – Did the guard load when you ordered them to do so?
Answer – Yes, they were ordered through the native officer, but they loaded. I rather recollect, sluggishly.
Question – What was the strength of the quarter-guard?
Answer – A Jemadar, Havildar, Naick and 20 men.
Question – Had the Jemadar set a proper example, do you think, from what you observed at the time, that the men of the guard would have advanced with him?
Answer – I do.

Cross-examined by the Prisoner
Question – How many paces in advance did I go when I left the quarter-guard?
Answer – About twelve paces.

BY THE COURT
Question- When you first saw the guard, in what state did you find it?
Answer – In front of the guard-house, at ordered arms, to the best of my recollection.
Question-Did the jemadar, either by his manner or actions, show any inclination to seize the prisoner?
Answer – No; to the contrary, otherwise he would have promptly obeyed my order in the first instance.

The Court now rose and proceeded to the quarters of the sergeant-major of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, reported to be unable to leave his quarters. The Court being assembled at the quarters at the sergeant-major, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, and the prisoner, prosecutor, and Court being all present.

2nd Witness
Sergeant-Major James Thornton Hewson, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, is duly sworn.

Question – Your names are James Thornton Hewson, and you are sergeant-major of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry?
Answer – Yes.
Question -Will you state the occurrences of the· 29th of March last?
Answer – Between the hours of four and six the afternoon of Sunday, the 29th March, I dressed myself and left my bungalow, to proceed towards the quarter-guard of my regiment. On reaching the bells-of-arms of the light company, I was fired at by MungulPanoy, sepoy, No.5 Company of the regiment. I then went in rear of the bells-of-arms and on my way towards the quarter-guard called out for the guard to turn out. On reaching the quarter-guard I saw some of the men dressed, some dressing.
I saw Issuree Pandy, jomadar, No.1 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, who was at the time in
command of the quarter-guard. I.told him that I had sent to the adjutant of the regiment,.an asked him why he did not arrest Mungul Pandy, Sepoy, the man who fired at me. He answered me, saying _ “My havildar is gone to the. field officer of the day; my naick is gone to the adjutant’s; am I to take him by myself?” I then told him to fall in his guard and load.
He called some of the men; some of them came, and some of them did not. His manner altogether was careless whether they fell in or not, neither did he draw his own sword. He kept telling me_” The man is mad, the man is mad; don’t go near him, don’t go near him,” During this time Mooktar Persaud Pandy, color havildar, No, 5 Company, came and said that he had been at Captain Drury’s quarters, and Captain Drury ordered the sepoy Mungul Pandy, to be confined.
Question-Did Mooktar Persaud Pandy say this in the presence of the jemadar Issuree Pandy?
Answer – Yes.
Question- Go on with your statement.
Answer (Witness resumes) – I said to Jemadar Issuree Pandy -” Do you hear?” He did not answer my question, but repeated – “The man is mad.” I then lost sight of the jcmadar, until after I was cut down by Mungul Pandy.
Question- State what happened to you then.
Answer -Immediately after this I heard the sound of horses’ hoofs, and the adjutant of the regiment, Lieutenant Baugh came riding up~ Lieutenant Baugh, called out_“Where is he? where is he?” I immediately answered_” He is on your left; look to the left, and ride towards the right.”
Immediately I heard a shot fired. The sepoy, Mungul Pandy, fired the shot; Lieutenant Baugh fell. Lieutenant Baugh then drew a pistol from the holster and fired at Mungul Pandy. The adjutant then drew his sword and rushed towards Mungul Pandy. When I saw him go towards the sepoy I drew my sword and ran up towards him, at the same time calling out to the guard to load their pieces and come on.
On coming up in a line with Lieutenant Baugh, I found that Mungul Pandy, who had not time to complete the loading of his piece, had drawn a tulwar (Native sword). Mungul Pandy made a feint at me and struck the adjutant with his sword. The second I received from Mungul Pundy on the head. I was wounded. At the same time, I was knocked down from behind by a blow from a musket in the hands of a sepoy regimentally dressed. On rising up from the ground I ran towards Mungul Pandy again, and caught him by the collar with my left hand. I then received a second cut on the head from Mungul Pandy and was again knocked down by repeated blows from a man dressed in regimentals, and beaten when on the ground. During the time I was facing Mungul Pandy, I heard a shot fired, which came from the direction of the lines and quite close to me.
After being knocked down the second time, on getting on my legs again; I looked round and saw several men regimentally dressed in front of the lines. I saw Lieutenant Baugh walking slowly towards the ‘3rd Regiment, Native Infantry, lines, on the left of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, lines; I followed him. On coming near the light company’s bells-of-arms of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, I heard footsteps behind me, and on turning round I saw Issuree Pandy, jemadar, his sword still in the scabbard. I spoke to him. I said _”You have acted in a most shameful manner. Why did not you bring your guard to our assistance 1 shall put· you under arrest.” I then made an effort with my right hand to grasp his sword, but he stepped back and prevented me, saying something which I did not understand; I heard him mumbling. I then went towards my house and met my wife and step-daughter, who brought me to the sergeant·major’s bungalow of the 43rd Regiment, Native (Light) Infantry.
Question- When the first shot was fired, did you see aim taken at you?
Answer – Yes; Mungul Pandy, sepoy, aimed at me.
Question – Did you hear the sound of a bullet?
Answer
– Yes, close by.
Question – Where was Mungul Pandy when he fired?
Answer –When he fired at me, he was in front, between No.6 and No.7 Company’s bells-of-arms on the parade.
Question -How far was he from the quarter-guard?
Answer – About forty or fifty yards.
Question – When you went up to the quarter-guard, where was this sepoy?
Answer – The sepoy had loaded his piece and came up in front of the quarter-guard
Question- How far off from it?
Answer – About forty yards to the front.
Question – Did you hear the sepoy say anything,
Answer – He called out to the men to turn out_ “Why don’t you tum out? You have sent me out here: why don’t you turn out?
Question – Did you hear the sepoy say anything about the Europeans having come?
Answer – No.
Question – What did the jemadar of the quarter·guard do while all this was going on?
Answer – He remained walking about in the rear of the quarter-guard.
Question – Did he make the men load when you told him to do so.
Answer – No, he gave no order whatever. He asked me what was the use_” The man was mad.”
Question – Was there time for the jemadar of the quarter-guard to have come to the assistance of Lieutenant Baugh and yourself if he had chosen to do so?
Answer –Plenty of time; the men were all dressed.
Question – Were any other sepoys of the regiment about at the time?
Answer – A great number from each company were between the bells-of-arms, in Hindustani clothes.
Question – Did none of these say or do anything?
Answer – Not one; a native officer came forward, Gunness Lalla, jemadar, and addressed the sepoy, Mungul Pandy. One half what he said I could not understand, as he was at some distance from me.
Question – Did the jemadar of the quarter-guard, the prisoner now before you, address the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, or /say anything to him?
Answer – No; not a word.
Question – Do you know whether the jemadar is a relation of the late sepoy, Mungul Pandy.
Answer – No, I cannot swear to that.
Question – When the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, fired at the adjutant, did you see him taking aim?
Answer – Yes, he took a deliberate aim standing.
Question – Are you still suffering from the wounds you received?
Answer – Yes; I was severely wounded in two places, and bruised about my arms with the blows from the butts of firelocks.
Question – Do you know what sepoys struck you with their firelock?
Answer – I could not recognise them. There was one man of the light company, but I could not swear to his features.
Question – Did the sepoys of the guard (quarter-guard) show any inclination to assist you?
Answer – No; on the contrary, they beat me.
Question – How do you know they beat you?
Answer –When I left the guard to go out to assist Lieutenant Baugh the guard were dressed. Before Lieutenant Baugh came I was standing for ten minutes in rear of the quarter-guard and had full opportunity to see whether any other portion of the regiment had put on their regimentals. I
am confident they had not time to do so. Also there is a picket mounted at sundown, but those men wear blue pantaloons. The men who struck me had white pantaloons on; all the remainder of the regiment were dressed in Hindustani clothes.
Question – How far from the quarter-guard is the place where Lieutenant Baugh and yourself were engaged fighting with Sepoy Mungul Pandy?
Answer -Sixty or seventy yards, not more.
Question – During the time you were at the quarter-guard, what was, Mungul Pandy, sepoy, doing?
Answer –Walking about with his firelock, sometimes at the shoulder, sometimes bringing it up to the present, Four times he presented it at me when I went beyond the rear of the quarter-guard, but he did not fire.
Question – Did he say anything during this time?
Answer –He called out to me to get out of his way, and repeated the words_ “Come out, men; come out men; you have sent me out, why don’t you follow me?
The prisoner declines to cross-examine.
The Court now, rose and proceeded to the quarters of Lieutenant and Adjutant Baugh, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, reported to be unable to leave his quarters on account of his wounds. The Court being re-assembled at Lieutenant Bangh’s quarters, and the Court, Prosecutor, prisoner, and Interpreter being all present.

3rd Witness
Lieutenant Bempde Henry Baughh, Adjutant, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, is sworn.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question – You are Adjutant, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, and were so on the 29th March last?
Answer – Yes.
Question – Will you state·to the Court the occurrences on the parade of your regiment on the afternoon of that day?
Answer – On the afternoon of the 29th March, about five o’clock, it was reported to me by the havildar-major of the regiment that a sepoy of the name of Mungul Pandy was out in front of the quarter-guard of the regiment, and had fired at the sergeant-major. I told the man to go and report the circumstance to Colonel Wheler, in command of the regiment, ordered my horse, and galloped down to the parade. Immediately on pulling up at the quarter-guard a shot was fired, and my horse fell. As soon as I could disentangle myself from my horse. I took a pistol from one of my holsters and presented it at Mungul
Pandy, the sepoy who had fired the shot, and who was then in the act of re-loading. He stopped re-loading and I immediately fired and rushed in, sword in hand, to secure the sepoy, Mungul Pandy.,I had advanced halfway when he drew a tulwar, (Native sword), which I was not aware he had about his person. I continued my advance and engaged the sepoy, Mungul Pandy. During a conflict ~ of eight or ten minutes, I received three wounds, one of which totally disabled my left hnd. A shot was fired close by, and I perceived myself gradually being hemmed in. As I was bleeding profusely, I commenced retreating, and was enabled to make good my retreat by the assistance rendered me by Shaik Pultoo,
sepoy, since promoted to havildar, and reached the bungalow of the sergeant-major of the 43rd Regiment, Native (Light) Infantry, in the adjoining lines. During the conflict, with the exception of the havildar aforesaid, not a man from the quarter-guard or the regimental lines attempted to givee the slightest assistance.
Question – Did you give any order to Jemadar Issuree Pandy, the prisoner before you, or say anything to him when you rode up?
.Answer – No, not that I recollect.
Question – Who were the people who hemmed you in?
Answer – I cannot exactly say, but I believe they were men of the regiment.
Question – Were they dressed in regimentals?
Answer – I could not exactly say, for they were all in rear of me.
Question – Did you receive any blows from behind?
.Answer – I got one at the back of the head, which I believe was given by the butt of a musket.
Question – While you were engaged with the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, did you hear a shot fired?
.Answer – Yes, there was a shot fired close by.
Question – Did you hear the sound of a bullet?
Answer – No, I cannot say I did that; I was too much engaged.
Question – From what direction did you hear the .shot fired?
Answer – From the direction of the quarter-guard.
Question – At what distance from the quarter-guard did this occur?
Answer – About fifty or sixty paces.
Question –During this occurrence, did you hear or see anything of the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard?
Answer – No, not during the conflict.
Question – Was your horse wounded with. a bullet?
Answer – Yes.
Question – During the time you were engaged with Mungul Pandy, were you impeded in any way from using your weapon to the best effect?
Answer – No.
Question – -Did Sepoy Mungul Pandy say anything when you first approached him?
Answer – Not a word.
Question – From whom did you receive the wounds you have spoken of?
Answer – The one in the throat, and the other in my hand, I received from Mungul Pandy.
Question – Did you see anyone strike the sergeant-major?
Answer – No; I saw the sergeant-major tumble, as though he had been struck down by a blow from behind.
Question – When you rode up to the quarter-guard, did you see any of the guard in front of the guard-house?
Answer – Yes.
Question – Were they dressed; and how many do you think were there ?
Answer – They were dressed; I cannot tell the number.
Question – Did you call upon any of the guard to assist you?
Answer – I was so anxious to prevent the sepoy, Mungul Pandy. reloading that I had not time to say much; but as far as I can recollect, when I rode up, I said_ “Why are not some arrangements made to secure this man “_or something to that effect. I received no reply.
Question – Had not there been considerable excitement amongst the sepoys on account of a new kind of cartridge?
Answer–Yes
Question – Were not the 19th Regiment, Native Infantry, expected, to arrive in the Station?
Answer – Yes, they were.
Question – ~Were the sepoy of your regiment informed why the 19th Regiment, Native Infantry, was to be marched in?
Answer – I believe they were aware; a parade was held, and Major-General J. B. Hearsey informed the men that he expected he would receive orders to disband the corps.
Question – On the 29th March last, was it known that any Europeans had arrived at the station?
Answer – I believe it was.
Question – Do you know how long the prisoner now before you has served as a. Native officer?
Answer – -I do not; I believe he is an old jemadar.
Question – Do you know whether there is any relationship between the jemadar and the late sepoy, Mungul Pandy.
Question I believe there is none.

Cross-examined by the Prisoner
Question -Did the adjutant give me any order to seize the sepoy?
Answer – I gave no other order than that I have mentioned.

It being near four o’clock, the Court adjourned until to-morrow, the 11 th April, at ten o’clock in the forenoon.

SECOND DAY’S PROCEEDINGS
Barrackpore, Saturday, 11th April 1857.
The Court re-assembled this day at 10 A.M~ at the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry Mess House; the President, Members, JudgeAdvocate, Interpreter, Prosecutor, and prisoner all being present, except Jemadar Dewan Alie, 9th Battalion, Artillery.

4th Witness
Shaik Pultoo, Musselman, havildar, Grenadier Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, is called into Court, and makes the prescribed solemn affirmation.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
The witness being wounded and weak, sits down.

Question – Will you state to the Court how you got your wound?
Answer – About a quarter to four, on the afternoon of the 29th March, I went out to ease myself. On returning to the bells-of-arms of No. 6 Company, I saw Mungul Pandy, sepoy, come out of his hut and proceed in the direction of the quarter-guard, wearing his regimental coat and cap, with a ·musket and sword in his hand. He proceeded to the quarter-guard, and then loaded his musket and ordered the bugler to eound the. assembly. He was shouting out_”The Europeans are come; you will be forced to bite cartridges contrary to your religion, all of you with me.”
Question – Where did the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, load his musket?
Answer – On the left, about twenty paces from the quarter-guard.
Question – Where did he then go?
Answer – He stood near No.6 Company bells-of-arms and threatened the bugler if he did not sound the assembly.
Question – Did the sepoy remain any time at the bells-of-arms of No.6 Company?
Answer – A little while.
Question –Where did he then go to?
Answer – He went out on the parade between the 6th and 7th Company’s bells-of-arms, and marched up and down.
Question –How far was this from the quarter-guard?
Answer – About thirty paces.
Question – Was any attempt made to prevent this sepoy loading by the jemadar of the quarter-guard?
Answer – No, none was made.
Question – When the sepoy was loading his musket, where was the jemadar of the quarter-guard?
Answer – The jemadar was in front of the guard-house, outside.
Question – Was the place at which the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, loaded visible from the quarter-guard?
Answer – Yes; he came out from his hut in the act of loading and had finished his loading near to No. 6 Company bells-of· arms.
Question –Did the jemadar of the quarter-guard say nothing to this sepoy?
Answer – He did not say a word.
Question –What did the sepoy then do?
Answer – He walked up and down on the road in front of the lines, about thirty paces from the quarter-guard, when the sergeant-major came from the left of the lines in front towards where the sepoy was. The sepoy, Mungul Pandy, retired a little way further onto the parade ground from the quarter-guard; when the sergeant-major came along near to the quarter-guard, the sepoy Mungul Pandy, took a deliberate aim and fired at the sergeant-major, who was not hit, and went into the quarter-guard.
Question –Where were you when the sergeant-major went into the quarter-guard?
Answer – I was under the shelter of a peepul tree, about three paces from the quarter-guard.
Question -What took place between the sergeant-major and jemadar of the quarter-guard?
Answer – The sergeant-major complained that the jemadar took no steps to prevent the sepoy from firing at him.
Question –What did the jemadar say in reply?
Answer – He said nothing; he and the sepoys were standing about.
Question –Did you hear the sergeant-major tell the jemadar to load?
Answer – He ordered the jemadar to take steps to seize the sepoy.
Question – Did the jemadar take any steps?
Answer – None whatever.
Question – What happened after this?
Answer – The sepoy took aim at him again whenever the sergeant-major showed himself.
Question – When the adjutant came up, where did the adjutant come to?
Answer – He stopped his horse near the quarter-guard where he was.
Question – Did the adjutant say anything?
Answer – He spoke to the jemadar and asked him why he had taken no measures to apprehend the sepoy.
Question – Did the jemadar make any reply?
Answer – The jemadar made no reply; he was inside the quarter-guard.
Question – What happened then?
Answer – I was myself telling the adjutant to look out and take care of himself when Mungul Pandy took aim and fired and shot the adjutant’s horse on the left thigh.
Question – Did the jemadar, or any of the guards tell the adjutant where the sepoy was?
Answer – I did not hear anyone tell him.
Question – What occurred then?
Answer – The adjutant drew his pistol and went at the sepoy, and said to me_” Shaik Pultoo come with me.” I went, and the sergeant-major came out also. Mungul Pandy was rapidly re-loading his musket; the adjutant fired and missed. We advanced so quickly that the sepoy had not time to load; there was e. combat between the adjutant and sergeant-major against the sepoy; the sepoy wounded both the adjutant and sergeant-major. I came up when the first blows were struck,- and caught Mungul Pandy round the waist, and extended one hand to avert the blows from the adjutant, and was wounded by Mungul Pandy by a sword-cut on that hand. I retained my hold on Mungul Pandy with one hand and told the adjutant and sergeant-major to retreat.
Question – Did any sepoy of the quarter-guard, or did the jemadar of the quarter-guard come up to assist the adjutant?
Answer – No, not one.
Question –Did any of the sepoys of the guard come. up, and what did they do?
Answer – After the adjutant had retreated a little way, four sepoys came out from the quarter-guard and struck the adjutant and sergeant-major with the butts of their muskets from behind.
Question –Did you recognise any of these four men?
Answer – No; I did not. I was then holding Sepoy Mungul Pandy, lest he should again attack the adjutant.
Question –When and why did you let go?
Answe r- When the adjutant and sergeant-major had got off, these men who struck the adjutant and’ sergeant-major with muskets threatened to fire upon me if I did not let go.
Question –When you were holding the· sepoy, Mungul Pandy, did you call out to the jemadar of the quarter-guard?
Answer – Yes. I said_“Send four sepoys to seize him; I have got hold of him; he can do no harm.”
Question –Did the jemadar give any answer?
Answer – No.
Question –Was the distance such that assistance could have been given at the moment?
Answer – It was about thirty or forty yards; assistance could have been given in a moment.
Question –Did you at any time see any inclination among any of the sepoys of the quarter-guard to assist?
Answer – Not when I was there.
Question –Was a shot fired during the fight?
Answer – Yes, from the quarter-guard.
Question – Did you see Mookta Pershad Pandy, the late drill havildar?
Answer – I did not see him.
Question –Did Mungul Pandy continue to call upon the men of the regiment to turn out?
Answer – He continued to call upon them to turn out, as they would have to bite the cartridges.
The prisoner declines to cross-examine.

BY THE COURT
Question –When Sepoy Mungul Pandy came out and threatened the bugler, where was he, the bugler?
Answer – Near the guard-house.
Question –At what distance was the sepoy then?
Answer – About twenty paces.
The witness withdraws.

5th Witness
Sobha Sing, Sikh, sepoy, 6th Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, being a prisoner, is brought into Court and duly sworn.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question – Were you one of the quarter-guard of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, at this station, on the 29th March, the day when the adjutant and sergeant-major of the regiment were cut down?
Answer – I was.
Question –State what you saw.
Answer – When the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, came out and fired at the sergeant-major I was lying on my charpoy undressed. I hurriedly put on my clothes. The adjutant came down afterwards on his horse, and Mungul Pandy then fired at him and wounded the horse. The adjutant then drew a pistol, fired at the sepoy, and missed him. He then drew his sword and advanced upon him. Mungul Pandy wounded him with a sword, and the sergeant-major also. I was in the quarter-guard at the time. I heard the jemadar say to us_ “Don’t go out unless I give you orders. Am I not in command of the guard?
Question-Did any sepoy show any desire to go out to assist the adjutant?
Answer – I and another Sikh, Atma Sing and two Hindustanis, whose names I don’t know but whom I can recognise, wanted to go, especially when we saw the sergeant’s sword broken. The sergeant-major asked the jemadar for his sword when his was broken.
Question-Did any sepoy of the guard go out to where the fight was going on?
Answer – Yes; Heeralall Tewary of the Light Company went out, and struck the sergeant-major with the butt of his musket.
Question-Did the jemadar of the guard try to prevent him going out?
Answer – I don’t know whether he tried to stop him, but he went; whether with an order or without I don’t know.
Question – When that sepoy returned to the guard, what did the jemadar of the guard do?
Answer – He told him to go and change his pantaloons, on which there was blood.
Question – Was the jemadar angry with him, or did he confine him?
Answer – He did not confine him. I did not hear the jemadar say this about changing his clothes; I have been told so by Mehee Lall, sepoy.
Question – Was a shot fired when the fight was going on?
Answer – I did not hear; there was a great row.
Question – What happened when the colonel of the regiment came up?
Answer –The colonel came and asked if we were loaded. We were not loaded then. The colonel then ordered us to shoulder arms and quick march. When we had gone twenty paces, the sepoy presented his piece, and the jemadar stepped behind the guard; and halted it, and went towards the colonel I did not hear what was said. The guard was then faced right about, and arms were piled, and caps were taken off.
Question – Did you see sepoy Heeralall Tewary come back to the guard after changing his clothes?
Answer – I saw the blood on his clothes. In about a quarter of an hour afterwards, he was wearing clean pantaloons with the guard.
Question – As far as you can judge, are you of the opinion that the guard would have continued to advance if the word “halt” had not been given by the jemadar?
Answer – We were going on when the jemadar halted us.
Question – During the whole time did the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard do anything for the assistance of the officers?
Answer – Nothing whatever.
Question – In what way did you or any other sepoys of the guard show a desire to go out and assist the officers?
Answer – Both I and others spoke to the jemadar and said_”Your officers are being murdered outside; why don’t you do something?” I offered to go myself to their assistance.
Question – What did the jemadar say?
Answer – “People will be killed, and what answer shall I give? Don’t you go without orders.”
Question – Did the jemadar look on while the fight was going on?
Answer – He was with all the rest looking on.
Question – Did any other sepoys than those you have alluded to show any desire to go out to assist?
Answer – Not that I know; they were standing about.
Question-How many sepoys were absent from the guard at that time?
Answer – They were all there with the exception of the four sentries.

Cross-examined by the Prisoner
Question – When the sergeant-major asked for a sword, where were you?
Answer-The sergeant-major was wounded, holding his hand to his head. I was outside the quarter-guard, where the sentry is.

BY THE COURT
Question – How many sepoys went out from the quarter-guard?
Answer – I only saw one, Heeralall Tewary.
Question – Did this sepoy strike the adjutant?
Answer – He struck both.
Question – When the guard was halted and ordered to the right about, who gave the order to right about?
Answer –The jemadar.
The witness withdraws.

6th Witness
Atma Sing, sepoy, No. 6 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, being a prisoner, is brought into Court and duly sworn.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question – Were you on the quarter-guard of the regiment on the day when the adjutant and sergeant-major were wounded?
Answer – Yes.
Question – State what you saw.
Answer – I saw the sepoy, Mungul. Pandy, fire at the sergeant-major. The sepoy, Mungul Pandy, called upon £ the men to come out for their religion. The adjutant came up, and Mungul Pandy taking aim fired and wounded the adjutant’s horse. A conflict took place between the adjutant and the sepoy, Mungul Pandy. The sergeant-major was also with the adjutant. I saw the adjutant wounded, and the sergeant-major’s sword broken.
Question – What did the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard do all this time?
Answer – The jemadar was at his guard, which was collected. The jemadar shut the doors of the quarter-guard looking on to the parade. Four men of the guard wanted to go out to help the adjutant, but the jemadar prevented them, saying there were no orders for them to go.
Question – How do you know these four men wanted to go out to help the adjutant?
Answer – When Shaik Pultoo called for four sepoys to seize Mungul Pandy, then the jemadar would not let anyone go.
Question – Did you hear Shaik Pultoo call out for assistance?
Answer – I heard him.
Question – What did the jemadar say?
Answer – He said_'” If you kill that sepoy you will be hung; and if he kills you, what shall I do?”
Question –
What was the jemadar of the quarter-guard doing while the fight was going on?
Answer – He remained with his guard.
Question – Did he give no orders for anyone to assist?
Answer – No, he did not.
Question – Did any sepoy of the guard go out to the fight?
Answer – Heeralall Tewary, who has since absconded, went out and struck hoth the adjutant and sergeant-major with the butt of his musket.
Question – Where was the jemadar at this time?
Answer – He was outside the guard, looking on at the fight.
Question – What did the jemadar do when Heeralall Tewary, sepoy, returned to the· guard?
Answer – 1 saw Heeralall Tewary change his clothes; they were bloody. The jemadar did nothing.
Question – Was the jemadar angry with that sepoy when he came back, or did he confine him, or say anything to him?
Answer – He did nothing with him.
Question – Had the sepoy changed his clothes before the colonel came to the guard?
Answer – Yes, before he came.
Question – When the colonel came up, did the guard get an order to advance?
Answer – The colonel ordered the guard to load, which was done, and afterwards to advance, which we did for about twenty paces when Mungul Pandy aimed at the jemadar. The jemadar fell behind the guard and halted them, and returned and spoke to the colonel I did not hear what he said. The jemadar afterwards ordered us to the right-about, which was done, and afterwards, caps were removed from the nipples. In the meantime, General Hearsey arrived, and asked if the guard was loaded; he was told that they were: but the caps were not on. He then ordered them to be put on, and the guard to march, first at the quick, then at the double. Mungul Pandy then shot himself, having first aimed towards the guard.
Question – When the sepoy first came out in front of the guard and called to the men to come out, did the jemadar do anything?
Answer- He did nothing; he gave no order.
Question – How do you know the men wanted to go out?
Answer – They asked the jemadar to be allowed to go out. I was one of the four. Mehee Lall, sepoy, was one, Sobha Sing was another, and I myself and another man whose name I don’t know.
Question – Did Colonel Wheler give the order to advance, or did he repeat the order to the jemadar?
Answer – I did not hear how many times. I was in the ranks.
Question – What did the jemadar say when you four sepoys wanted to go out?
Answer – He said_ “If you kill the man you will be hung.” He prohibited us from going.
The prisoner declines to cross-examine.
The witness withdraws.

7th Witness
Mehee Lall, Hindoo, sepoy No. 1 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, a prisoner, is brought into Court and makes solemn affirmation.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question – Were you one of the quarter-guard of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, on the day when the adjutant and sergeant-major of the regiment were wounded on the parade?
Answer – Yes.
Question – Did you see the sepoy, M.ungul Pandy, go out on to the parade?
Answer – I saw him on the parade when I returned from going out to ease myself.
Question – Did you hear the sepoy say anything?
Answer – He said_ “Come out, sepoys, come out for your religion;” and told the bugler to sound the assembly.
Question – Did the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard then do anything or say anything?
Answer – No. he did nothing.
Question – Did you see the adjutant and sergeant-major fired upon by Sepoy M.ungul Pandy?
Answer – I was in the rear of the quarter-guard, and heard the sound of the firing. I did not see the musket fired.
Question – Did you afterwards see the adjutant and sergeant-major fighting with Sepoy Mungul Pandy on the parade?
Answer – I saw it from the front of the guard-house. We had all gone in front when a sentry shouted out_” He is killing the adjutant.”
Question – Where was the jemadar of the quarter-guard then when the fighting was going on?
Answer – He was with the guard in front of the quarter-guard.
Question – Did the jemadar give any orders when the fighting was going on?
Answer – He gave no orders. He stood looking on.
Question – Did any men of the guard expre88 a desire to go out to assist their officers?
Answer –Yes, Atma Sing, Sobha Sing, Sewbnccus Tewary, and I myself asked the jemadar to let us go to the assistance of the officers.
Question – What did the jemadar say?
Answer –He prevented us from going; he said_“You are not to go without orders.”
Question-When the fighting was going on, was a shot fired?
Answer –I heard a shot fired; I heard the report of three shots fired.
Question – Did any sepoys of the guard go out to where the fighting was going on?
Answer –I saw Heeralall Tewary of the quarter-guard come back from the place where they were fighting, with his pantaloons bloody.
Question – Did you see Heeralall Tewary. sepoy, strike anyone?
Answer –I saw him strike the sergeant-major with the butt of his musket.
Question – Did Sepoy Heeralall Tewary return to the quarter guard?
Answer –Yes.
Question – What did the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard say; did he say anything to him?
Answer – He ordered him to change his clothes.
Question – Was the jemadar angry with Sepoy Heeralall Tewary?
Answer –No, he was not.
Question – Did he order him into confinement?
Answer –No. he did not.
Question – Did you see Sepoy Heeralall go out from the quarter-guard on to the parade to where the fighting was going on?
Answer –-I saw him go out.
Question – Did he say anything when he was going out?
Answer – No, he rushed out without saying anything.
Question – Did the jemadar call him back?
Answer –No.
The prisoner declines to cross-examine.

BY THE COURT
Question – Why did you want to go out from the quarter-guard?
Answer –To assist the adjutant, as it was my duty.
The witness withdraws.

8th Witness
Captain C.C. Drury, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, is called into Court and duly sworn.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question-Are you now Acting Adjutant of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry?
Answer –Yes.
Question-Did you go with Colonel Wheler, Commanding the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, to, the quarter-guard of the regiment on the afternoon of the 29th March last?
Answer – Yes.
Question-Will you state what then took place?
Answer –On arriving at the guard; the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, was pointed out to us parading in front of the guard, about a hundred and twenty yards off, calling out something. I could not hear what he, said., Colonel Wheler ordered part of the guard to load, and afterwards the whole guard, and gave the order to Issuree Pandy, jemadar, who was commanding the guard; to advance and capture the sepoy, Mungul Pandy. The jemadar took me aside, behind the quarter· guard, and said_ “It is of no use, they will not
advance, they will take the man’s part, they are with the man,”
or words to that effect. I said_”Nonsense, you must go where you are ordered; fall in with your guard, and obey the orders you have received.” The jemadar fell in with his guard in a reluctant kind of manner, and advanced them some eight or ten paces when the guard halted. The jemadar fell to the rear. This state of things lasted for two or three minutes. I went in the direction of the 43rd Regiment, Native Infantry, to try if I could get a rifle. As I went along to the left of our lines Major-General Hearsey, Commanding the Division, rode up to the guard, and the guard advanced with him, and some twelve or more mounted officers, when the man, Mungul Pandy, sepoy, knelt down and shot himself.
Question – Did Colonel Wheler have to repeat the order to the jemadar to advance?
Answer – I think more than once; I can’t be positive. To the best of my belief, the order was given more than once.
Question – When the guard advanced with the jemadar a little way and then halted, who halted it?
Answer – I did not hear any order given to halt; whether it was done by any mutual understanding between the jemadar and the guard I cannot say. The jemadar was on the right of the guard, I was on the left rear. From where I was, I could not see the jemadar.

It being near four o’clock, the Court adjourned until 11 a.m., on Monday, the 13th April.

THIRD DAY’S PROCEEDINGSBarrackpore, 13th April 1857
The Court re-assembled this day at their former place of meeting. The President, Members (except Jemadar Dewan Alie, Artillery), Judge-Advocate, Interpreter, Prosecutor, and prisoner being all present, the examination of Captain Drury is continued.

BY THE PROSECUTOR

Question – When yourself and Colonel Wheler arrived at the quarter-guard, did Jemadar Issuree P.andy make any report of any sepoy of his guard having gone out and taken part in the conflict?
Answer – He made no report of that nature.
Question – Is Heeralall Tewary, sepoy of the Light Company, now present with the regiment?
Answer – No; he deserted the second day after the affair occurred, namely, the evening of the 31st March.
Question – When you went up with Colonel Wheler, did you see any men of the regiment collected about the bell-of-arms or the different companies?
Answer – Yes, a great many.
Question – About how many men were in the lines off duty on that afternoon?
Answer – About 400, including commissioned and non-commissioned officers, from reports I have received.
Question – After the jemadar had told you that the men of his guard would not touch the sepoy, did he again get an order from Colonel Wheler to advance with his guard?
Answer – Yes
Question –Did he then obey?
Answer – He obeyed so far as to advance some ten paces in a hesitating manner.
Question – Had the jemadar done his duty with alacrity and without hesitation, are you of opinion, from all you then observed, that the men would have continued their advance?
Answer – I think they would.
Question – Did you see General Hearsey march off the guard?
Answer – Yes.
Question – Did the guard continue to advance with General Hearsey until the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, shot himself?
Answer – Yes.

Cross-examined by the Prisoner
Question – Did I not tell Captain Drury to shelter himself lest he should be fired upon?
Answer – I cannot recollect whether he did; numbers of men told me to do so; amongst them a member of this Court, Sewumber Pandy, Subadar, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry?
Judge-Advocate to Court-It appears that this subadar has a knowledge of the whole of this case, and yet has sat as a member. This was altogether unknown to me, and ought to have been stated to me by the subadar when the charges were read out.
The Court is closed.
The Court re-opened.
Question – Did the colonel give me an order to fire upon the sepoy, Mungul Pandy, or to seize him?
Answer – He got orders to seize him. His guard was loaded. It was of course at his option either to shoot him or to bayonet him, to secure him in whatever way he chose?

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question- Is the jemadar an officer of long-standing, or recently promoted?
Answer- I think he is an officer of 1850 or 1851.
The witness withdraws.

9th Witness
Lieutenant J. Hearsey, 38th Regiment, Native Infantry, is called into Court and sworn.

BY THE PROSECUTOR
Question – You are Aide-de-Camp to General Hearsay, Commanding the Presidency Division?
Answer – Yes.
Question – On the afternoon of the 29th March, did you go down with General Hearsey to the quarter-guard of the 34th Regiment, Native Infantry? If so, please state what took place there?
Answer – The Major~General came up; he asked the jemadar commanding the quarter-guard why he did not seize the man.He replied,_ “What does it matter-kya purwa,-he will only shoot some of us.” The General then asked if the muskets were loaded. The jemadar replied that they were, but they were not capped. The General then told the men to cap and follow him, which they did. On the guard nearing Sepoy Mungol Pandy about fifty or sixty yards, he knelt down and shot himself.
Question – Did the General have to repeat any order to the jemadar now before the Court?
Answer – No.
Question – Was there any hesitation, as far as you could see, in the guard obeying the orders of the General?
Answer – At first there was a little. The men did not seem to assemble quickly.
Question – Did the jemadar appear to obey willingly the orders of the Major-General. or otherwise?
Answer – He showed a little hesitation at first.
Question – Did you observe anyone speak to the rear rank as they were advancing?
Answer – No.
Question – Did you hear the jemadar say anything more than the words you have stated?
Answer – Nothing more than what I have said.
Question – Had the Major-General a revolver pistol in his hand?
Answer – Yes.
Question – Did the Major-General show the guard that he had it?
Answer – He had it in his hand. He had no holsters, I think.
The prisoner declined to cross-examine.
The witness withdraws.
The prosecution is closed.

DEFENCE
When the sepoy (whose name I don’t know, but who has since been, hanged) came out onto the parade, I was informed of the same by the havildar of the guard, who said that the man was in front of the guard, with a sword and a loaded musket. I sent immediately to inform the regimental officer of the day, and also the sergeant-major, by the naick of the guard; Emam Khan, and also to the adjutant. I then
called out to Mungul Pandy_ “Have you heard the orders General Hearsey gave on parade; are you going to obey them?” I then ordered some sepoys of the guard to seize the prisoner. The sepoy threatened
me if I did not sound the assembly, when I screened myself behind the peepul tree; I also ordered the door of the bells-of-arms to be shut, and said _” Don’t allow any blockhead to approach.” I also told the bugler not to sound the assembly, or he would be blown away from a gun. The sergeant-major then arrived. I then left the shelter of the peepul tree, and told the sergeant to take care of himself. I then heard a shot fired from the parade ground? I don’t know if it was fired at the sergeant-major or myself. I then sent four sepoys to seize the sepoy, and said_”Whoever seizes him will be a brave man.” The sepoys whom I told to go were from different companies. I said to Shaik Pultoo, who has since, been promoted, _”The other sepoys are in regimentals, you are in undress; You will be able to get behind him.” I said to the sergeant-major_ “Keep in shelter yourself, or you will be killed.” The adjutant then came up.
Then Mungul Pandy fired, and hit the adjutant’s horse on the thigh. I said to the adjutant_“Your horse is wounded;. do you stay here, and let me go and seize the sepoy.” I said to the sepoys, _ “What are you doing?” The adjutant then fired his pistol. The sergeant-major said something to the adjutant. I said to the sepoys_”What are you looking at? Do not you see the adjutant’s horse has been struck? Go forward.” I then saw the sepoy strike the adjutant and sergeant, and also that the sergeant-major’s sword was broken. Shaik Pultoo then ran up towards the sepoy and the sergeant-major. Another sepoy was also with him of the light company. He was not of the guard. Mungul Pandy then loaded his musket and aimed at me. I then retreated, as 1 thought my sword was of the same kind as the sergeant-major’s which had broken.
A Sikh sepoy then went towards the sergeant-major. 1 said to him_”Take care where you are going to; why are you going towards the sergeant major?” This Sikh sepoy was on the guard, a stout man; 1 don’t know his name.
The sergeant-major and the adjutant were both wounded. 1 sheathed my sword first, and said_” Who has wounded you; was it Mungul or another sepoy?” The sergeant-major then told me to give up my sword; 1 did not give it; 1 retreated. 1 then said to the men of my guard_ “You have allowed four men to be wounded; why have you done so? You could have prevented this, if you had liked; you have
connived at it.”
I then determined to report this to all the authorities.
1 proceeded to the house of the officer of the day, and related to him all that happened. 1 asked him if I should go and report it to the General myself, or whether he would go. The officer of the day told me to go and take care of my quarter-guard. 1 told the men of the guard to seize the sepoy in any way they could; four or five sepoys got ready. I asked if they were loaded. 1 said_”If any European officer should come, I will go in front, you come behind,” After this the colonel and Captain Drury came. I then told the colonel and Captain Drury to keep in shelter. The colonel then ordered me to load the guard. I loaded
the guard, and called Captain Drury aside, and said_ “I doubt about two or four of the men of the guard.” Captain Drury said_” Never mind.”
I then again told him to keep in shelter, and the colonel also. The colonel asked if we were ready, and ordered us to shoulder arms. We advanced about twenty or twenty-five paces, when three sepoys spoke and said_ “What! are not the colonel and Captain Drury coming?” I then halted the guard, and ran towards the colonel, and said the guard are disobedient. The colonel then ordered me to briog back the guard.
The General, General Hearsey, Saheb Bahadoor, then arrived, and asked if we were loaded. I said_“We are, but the caps are not on.” The General then ordered me to shoulder arms, which I did, and to quick march, which 1 ordered the men to do; then afterwards to double. General Hearsey had a loaded pistol in his hand. As we advanced, the sepoy first presented his musket at us, and then shot himself. The General then gave orders about funeral ceremonies for the man. The General then told us to unload our muskets. This is all. Some of the sepoys on the guard were young, and there were no non·commissioned officers at the moment with me.
The prisoner being asked, says_ “I have no witness to call.”
The defence is closed.
The Court is closed.

FINDING
The Court find the prisoner, Jemadar Issuree Pandy, No. 1 Company, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, guilty of both charges preferred against him.
SENTENCE
The Court sentence the prisoner, Jemadar Issuree Pandy, No.1 Company, 34th Regiment; Native Infantry, to suffer death by being hanged by the neck until he be dead.

(Sd.) JOWAHIR LALL TEWARY, Subdr-Maj., 43rd Regiment, Native Light Infantry, President of the Court
(Sd.) G.C. HATCH, Capt.,., Deputy Judge-Advocate General
(Sd.) JAMES VALLINGS, Lieut., Interpreter to the Court.
Barrackpore,
The 13th of April 1857

Approved and confirmed – (Sd.) G.Anson, Genl. Comdr-in-Chief, East India
Headquarters, Simla,
The 20th of April 1857


From Major-General J. B. Hsearsey, C.B., Commanding the Presidency Division, to Colonel R. J. H. Birch, C.B., Secretary to the Government of India, in the Military Department,— dated Barrackpore, 21st April 18S7.
I have the honor to report, for the information of the Right Hon’ble the Governor-General of India in Council, that, conformably with instructions which I received today at 11 a.m. from Army Headquarters by a telegraph message, Jemadar Issuree Pandy, 34th Regiment, Native Infantry, was duly hanged by the neck this afternoon at six o’clock, in presence of all the troops at the station. The crimes, finding and sentence of the general court-martial before which he was arraigned, approved and confirmed by His Excellency the Commander-in-Chief, having been first carefully explained to all the native corps.
It may perhaps be satisfactory for the Government to learn that when on the scaffold the jemadar made a voluntary confession of his guilt and admitted the justice of the sentence which had been passed on him, at the same time imploring all his fellow soldiers who were present to take warning by his untimely fate.
The prisoner’s bearing and behaviour upon the scaffold were manly and becoming the solemn position of one about to be launched into eternity.


Sources:
Appendix to Papers Relative to the Mutinies in the East Indies – Inclosures In Nos. 7 to 19 (Presented to both Houses of Parliament by Command of Her Majesty, 1857)
Selections from the Letters and Dispatches and other State Papers preserved in the Military Department of the Government of India 1857-58, Vol. 1. -edited by George W. Forrest, B.A. (Calcutta Military Department Press, 1893)














Leave a comment